universityoflies

roasting marshmellows in phd hell

What Should We Call Grad School

with 6 comments

I’ve started a half dozen entries over the last few weeks but don’t have the enthusiasm to finish writing anything.

My days currently look like this: wake up, eat string cheese, stare at thesis for 9 hrs, eat more string cheese.

The ‘staring at thesis’ bit involves changing a few words here and there, cleaning the kitchen sink, cursing my lack of foresight as a youth, and deleting loads of shit I thought was brilliant but in reality is horrible.  I’ve also had a few of those weird trances where you start writing and it feels like looking at one of those magic eye posters from the 90s because you are slightly cross eyed and focusing at something just past the computer screen.  Then, after you snap out of the daze, your word count has miraculously increased by 999999 and it’s time to stream an ABBA playlist on youtube because THIS IS PROBS THE BEST THING YOU EVER WROTE!!!!!!!  but not.

My ass hurts from sitting all day.  I feel like the dead professor from “A Grammarian’s Funeral” but without the genius.  Just the atrophied muscle and lack of life.

Anyways, if anyone out there in phd land is suffering through this with me, I am throwing some virtual gang signs in solidarity.

Check this out on your next cheese stick break:

http://whatshouldwecallgradschool.tumblr.com/

 

Written by universityoflies

August 9, 2013 at 16:08

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been spending way too much time sitting and “writing” as well. What do you think about standing desks? The thing is, I think then my feet would hurt. Don’t people get varicose veins from standing all the time?
    I love that tumblr. It gives me a weird sense of relief that there are people out there who can laugh at how ridiculous life as a lab-drone grad student can be. It reminds me of how when I was in one awful lab, what made it livable was I had one friend who I could make fun of things with. Everyone else was all serious and not funny. Wartime humour, I guess.

    khhsocratica

    August 10, 2013 at 14:36

    • Wartime humor, indeed.

      Hm, I feel like a standing desk would be distracting.. although part of my butthurt is that I have this stupid rule in my mind that I can only sit on uncomfortable chairs while doing my work. What can I say, it keeps me awake. Or else I should have just joined Opus Dei. It probs would have been easier than doing this.

      Good luck with the writing!!

      universityoflies

      August 13, 2013 at 12:51

  2. Ugh, sorry to hear :(. Hopefully things improve!!

    Jennifer Polk

    August 12, 2013 at 17:08

  3. It feels good to know I am not alone….thank you for putting a grin back on my sad full of cheese strings face 🙂

    Jane

    August 12, 2013 at 20:04

    • you most certainly are not alone, Jane.

      Good luck finishing…feel free to vent here anytime.

      universityoflies

      August 13, 2013 at 12:48


Leave a Reply

