universityoflies

roasting marshmellows in phd hell

Academic Word of the Day!

with 3 comments

Time for today’s Academic Word of the Day!

I hear it’s the greatest book of our time.

Kafkaesque: adj.

  1. Marked by a senseless, disorienting, often menacing complexity.
    Kafkaesque bureaucracies
  2. Marked by surreal distortion and often a sense of impending danger.
  3. In the manner of something written by Franz Kafka.

Why I want to ban it:  has this word ever been used by someone who has actually read Kafka’s work and wants to make a direct comparison?  Maybe.  (But that person is probably a douche.)  Couldn’t you just say, “hm, X certainly exhibits a sense of disillusionment”?  I realize that “Kafkaesque” is less words, but there’s something so smarmy about taking a last name and adding “ian” or “esque,” like you are daring the other person to not know what that is and/or seizing the opportunity to work how fucking brilliant you are into the conversation.

“Your child’s olfactory discharge is positively Pollockian!”

I’m going to jump on Kafka’s motorbike and ride off into the sunset before the naysayers get me.

Written by universityoflies

July 9, 2012 at 14:45

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have read Metamorphosis and The Trial…I would say trying to figure out the correct way/place to add a few hundred lines of code in a program of a million lines is Kafkaesque.

    EquationForLife

    July 10, 2012 at 05:04

  2. Mmm….I’ve always wondered how you could actually use this word without using a whole pile of other words that sound impressive but don’t actually really mean anything. If I hear it I notice that I’m actually zoning out of the conversation and my mind has started to wander.

    Anthea

    July 16, 2012 at 23:14


Leave a Reply

